Going out with the Sisters

Standard

Oi familia and amigos!

Just writing my weekly email update. This week was the usual until the Sunday. I am feeling pretty much 95% back to normal! The 5% left is just more scar tissue in my shoulder that my chiropractor is working out with weekly visits. Only a couple of weeks until I have my blood test and will be able to receive my new mission call. Does anyone want to guess where I am go in the States? 🙂
Sunday I meet up with the Sisters in the spanish ward in my stake, It was surprising how much I understood but it feels like I am in the first month in the field again because I am not able to respond in a manner that they will be able to understand.
We were able to visit an inactive member and teach about the Sabbath Day. It is interesting how much different the teaching is here in Brazil. The second lesson was with a Grandma that was visiting from Columbia for a week and half. Her son and his family are members but did not participate in the lesson. To me family support is a must if an investigator is able to have it.
That is why the best work happens when members, aka the ward family, or part-member families pitch in with the missionaries with referrals, help and open homes. This gives the investigator a go to when the missionaries are not around to answer questions or support.
So I would like to commit all of y’all to do one thing with the missionaries in your area be it dinner with nonmember neighbors, referral or just go out with them one night. It will be worth it I promise!!!
love y’all!
Sister Janis
About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

