Finding Answers and Needing More

Standard

Hi Everyone! 

I am in the States now at my home in Utah. It was a packed last few days in Brazil and a 12-hour flight starting at 1 in the morning Thursday from Brazil to Utah. 

I spent the last few days in Brazil visiting the families that I taught and that were in my ward. I included four of these families in the pictures I attached. I hoping to back at the end of this year to see them again and have my parents meet my recent converts.

Image

Image

Image

Image

My two favorite goodbyes were of course Joao and Jessica. Joao said that he was buying a computer this year and would email me as soon as he set up email. lol And Jessica drew me a picture of the Plan of Salvation which was awesome because she had a hard time remembering the other lessons, so to have her remember the most important lesson of all was AWESOME!

On Thursday afternoon, I arrived and met my parents at the airport which included an almost RM movie moment as my parents went to the wrong terminal and I did not find them for at least 3 very, very long minutes. 🙂 After they picked me up we went to our Hotel in Downtown SLC and I got hot white chocolate from Starbucks. It was great to talk to my parents and see what was happening in the USA while all things were happening on the Brazil side.

Friday we jetted up to Daybreak and got to see the rest of my family including my wonderful twin Ethan, who I had not seen in 3 years as he was still on a mission when I left. It was great to catch up with family and eat dinner together. I also got the opportunity to meet with my Stake President and start my 8-week transfer here at home. 

The next day we had the wedding open house for my brother and new sister-in-law who was just recently married. This gave me a chance to see my extended family and help with the celebration. Sunday was spent relaxing and enjoying the warmth of the fire. 

Today I went to two different doctor appointments, one general doctor and the other a Chiropractor. My doctors are very convinced that I do have fibromyalgia. So the next few weeks we will be doing blood tests, more visits and hoping that everything will work out. Even with this diagnosis there is still a possibility that I can serve again.

Please continue your prayers. I appreciate all of ya’ll!

Amo voces!

Sister Janis 

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

