Moving Areas

Standard

Oi Família!

I am so excited to talk to ya´ll this next week! The temple was wonderful! It was all in Portuguese and pretty easy to understand, at least until the very end. I was also able to have an interview with President Klein. It was a checkpoint in knowing how far my Portuguese was improved since the last time I was interviewed 3 months ago.

I included a picture of my companion and I drinking the hot cocoa that you sent mom!

Image

I received the second package and the package that Aunt Cheryl’s family sent! Our home is now a winter wonderland! Its actually been cold this past week. Yes I know it is 80 degrees, but dang is it cold! I wear a sweater for at least part of the day every day. The rain is also pretty cold here so with the lower temperature and wind it feels like a summer night in Utah. I’m liking it because I can have a little bit of a winter. 🙂

This week we had our Ward Christmas Party so I was able to have a photo of me and Jéssica taken! She is the girl in the middle and the other is the daughter of the bishop, Raquel. It was great to watch João interacting with the ward and Jéssica’s little brother Carlos running around super excited. lol

Image

Jéssica is really progressing. She came to church yesterday and is praying and reading everyday. We tried having her family join another for FHE tonight but everyone is busy today, so we will be having one only with them. I hoping it will touch the heart of Jéssica’s mother because right now she is reading the Book of Mormon well.  She works but we haven’t been able to teach to her. She said Jéssica doesn’t need to be baptized because she was baptized in the Catholic Church, so it should be interesting.

We also started teaching the 10 year-old son of João, João Lucas. He was quite a cutie with his questions. My favorite happened as we were leaving. “Will the world really end the 21st of December because my birthday is the 23rd and I really want to have my birthday!?!”  I reassured him that it would not happen and he could have his birthday. It will be a little difficult to baptize him because he lives with his mom in a different area and is the drummer for his church. We told João that he just needs to be attend at least once on Sunday, so he will be trying to work with João Lucas and his mother to get him here.

João has changed so much! It is amazing to see the progress he is having in the gospel and really taking everything in stride. I am hoping that he will be able to go and do baptisms for the dead soon. He is really excited about the temple.

So about moving…During the interviews this last week, President Klein gave us permission to live in the Elders’ Apartment when we need too. So for 4-5 days next week will be living in their apartment to do the work and maybe close their area. (Just reminder…the elders were transferred last 6 weeks so we are now covering two areas…therefore two apartments.) It should be interesting because the other area is more tranquil and we only have a map of half of the area.

This week also we have our Christmas Conference. In my mission because it is so big, we have four different ones and our president travels to the different states. We are going to be doing Secret Friend so that should be lots of fun. 🙂

I hope ya´ll have fun relaxing and preparing for Christmas! Give everyone a hi and a hug from me!

Com MUITO amor!

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

