Everything is Connected!

Standard

Oi Família!

I got permission to work like normal half way through this week and we had another zone conference so I am very excited to write and have tons to talk about!

The Zone Conference was with the cousin of President Klein, Elder Aidukaitis. If was because of the parents of Elder Aidukaitis that the family of President Klein was able to accept the gospel. It is always great to have a member of the Seventy come visit because we are able to have a new perspective on doing the same things. This last Zone Conference we learned how to find more people by way of the people that we baptize. We do this by asking for a list of family, friends, coworkers and neighbors that we could invite to the baptism and then using that list to invite and contact to find new people to teach. Then the people we teach already have a connection to the gospel and understanding of why we want to teach them. It makes a lot of sense and Sister Cortez and I are really excited to use the technique in our next baptism.

Also during the Zone Conference I finally got to meet Sister Wilson face-to-face! I added a picture of the two of us from the Conference. For those you do not know, when I was at BYUI before the mission I had a class with the best friend of Sister Wilson. We started talking and discovered that Sister Wilson was also coming to my mission just two months later. She was attending U of U at the time so we facebooked, texted and called until I left. She then read my emails while I was in the CTM. So for about 7-8 months we have known each other and hadn’t meet so pretty fun!

So João, the recent convert in the video that I sent you, is doing very, very well fitting into the church. He has an interview with the bishop this Wednesday so I hoping that means temple recommend and calling! He is very excited to do baptisms for the dead and get to know more people in the ward. Yesterday during church he gave a reference to find some members that have been less active for many years. He was very excited when we passed by a little bit before visiting them to get a little more information about the situation. They turned out to be a pretty good reference. It is a family of a mom and daughter, the daughter has been pretty rebellious and the mom has been having life challenges too. When we retaught the first lesson to her, she got very excited and was very open. We promised that if she read as a family at least 5 minutes per day that her troubles would less and she would feel stronger spiritually. As we were getting ready to leave, she mentioned that she wanted to go visit João but that it was too late and dark to walk alone. So we offered to walk with her since he lived close to us. As we were walking together she told us that she is the girlfriend of João! So I am secretly hoping for a wedding in the temple before I leave this next year. We just need to baptize the son of João and everything would be golden!

As for our investigators, we had some really good potentials for this coming Saturday to be baptized but they all feel through.  One because he had a birthday party with family members that did not like the church, another was drinking with friends when we visited and the mother of another does not like us. We still have two or three more hopefuls so wish us well! One of them is a old drinking friend of João, Rossvelt, who is little scared to commit to date because he feels he might not be able to keep it or the covenant of baptism after being baptized. We explained about the Holy Ghost and are hoping when Elders Vaughan and Gonçalves talk to him during the baptismal interview all will go well.

My health has pretty much been the same if not a little better then normal. I still feel weak and extremely tired especially when first starting out the workday. My pain has just been come a part of life know so I am able to work around it. I hope to become an expert with this over the next two weeks so I can stay here. I have not done any more exams because we are waiting to see if I can control and conquer the pain enough to stay here. Don’t worry it not horrible, horrible, just sharp numbness in my elbow and fingers every once awhile and an occasional stab by my shoulder blade and lower ribs. Nothing compared to what they used to be. 🙂 For you that don’t know the doctors here think I have fibromyalgia which with practice I can control and continue on working here.

Thank you for the prayers and support! I truly feel them!

Vós Amo!

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

