Jesus O Cristo

Standard

Oi Família e Amigos!

I thought I change the beginning up a little bit. 🙂 First I want to say shout out back to Elder Janis! Brazilians are wonderful and are very receptive to the gospel so you should have a lot of success with Luan, if he says his name in a Portuguese accent should sound like Leon. Oh more thing before I write about the week. This past week and at church everybody asked why my parents came to Manaus. The first couple of times I was like what??? And then I realized they were talking about the Jacksons. So when ya´ll really come to Manaus it may be a shocker for some people. lol

So about my health, I went to the doctors today before writing so I could give ya´ll an answer about what is going on. According to the results all my bones are wonderful. So we know my muscles and bones are not the problem, Yippee! But we still do not know I have…the doctor is thinking Fibromyalgia but is wanting me to have more exams and more doctors appointments. Which means that here in Brazil I will not have anything more until December to tell ya´ll as I do not have my appt with the neurologist until the 19th and Cardiologist until the 25 or might be 27. So yeah…I will just try to keep working and hoping for answers soon.

So this week, I stayed at member’s home during the day sometimes when my companion went on splits with young women in the ward. They are a part member family, as her daughters married nonmembers and are not active anymore. Most of her grandchildren are members but not all are active. So I was able to do some teaching by example by reading scriptures and did our Area Book paperwork there in order to have a way of talking about how much members and investigators mean to us missionaries. It was pretty fun to watch and help them set up their Christmas tree. The family also had a parrot that fell into their yard and they kept it as a pet along with two turtles. I added a picture of the parrot because I pretty sure it did not like me very much sitting by it working on all the paper work and organizing.

Image

I cannot express how important it is to do the missionary paperwork or things that we are asked to do correctly, be it here as a missionary or in life!! It was so sad to see Teaching Records with missing information or no confirmation date or records from other areas, because they are people that might be lost and we not able to work with because of critical things missing like addresses or phone numbers.

All this has completely affected the way I think about teaching and do the paperwork, as I am now very, very clear and careful with everything and even more focused on teaching people and not lessons, so I can write about their concerns or doubts and we or other missionaries after can work the best way possible with them.

Another thing I did this week was read Jesus the Christ front to back, yes in one week. 🙂 As ya´ll know I love reading so finding Jesus Christ hidden on storage shelves was like a blessing from Heavenly Father! I encourage everyone to read this inspired book and truly study it. I have learned so much about the life of Christ and how I can be a better person, missionary, and example that He needs us to be.

I added another picture of our area so that you can have little better view. 🙂

Image

I hope ya´ll enjoy the wonderful holidays coming up and do not eat to many latkes! Especially you Spence! 😉

Muito Amor e Abraços

Sister Janis

P.S. Apparently they translated the scripture animation videos we used to watch on Sunday into Portuguese! I am been trying all week to figure out if our neighbors were Mormon or not because I saw them watching it. (An interior design tendency…) And it just came on the television of the email house. How cool is it that the gospel is being taught through animation and church films! Continue being examples!

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

