Miracle and MRIs

Standard

Oi Família!

This week was pretty eventful as you can tell from all the pictures I attached 🙂 This week I had two visits to the doctors, Zone Conference with Elder Costa, the Seventy Area President, and a baptism.

So first thing first, I know ya´ll have been waiting all week to hear about my exam results and, like me, finally know what is wrong. BUT apparently I am being blessed with more time here on the mission if I do have to go home or an opportunity to learn how to really think positively. I went in on Wed. to do my exams to find out that for my MRI we have to schedule and wait two days for the Insurance Company to approve. So after being there for 30 minutes we took the hour city bus ride back to our house. (It is an hour because we have to take two buses including waiting in the center for the second one and buses here do not have schedules and the same number do not work everyday.) On Saturday I went back in a little late, (my companion has a little problem with time accountability, I think this due to her not liking the hospital or buses), so they rescheduled one of my MRIs for later that day and did all my x-rays and a tomography. This all ended up taking about 8-9 hours including the bus rides. I enjoyed all that by using the money we got from our lunch appt. that day to buy Subway. It was very delicious and went right along with the Swedish Fish I got from my Halloween package. (Thanks Mom!)

After all of that, I have to go in again today because even though the medical office sent in a request for two MRIs only one was authorized. The office called just a while ago that I can now do the other one. Which means we will need to visit the Hospital to get the MRI reordered again and then to the private medical office that is doing everything. We will then go back in with Sister Klein Friday or Saturday to get the results and visit the hospital again. I been quite proud of myself for this entire thing because my companion, I think does not understand the medical people or like how abrupt they are in answers so she refuses to make the calls or talk to them and just reads her every growing pile of Liahonas (I not really sure were she is getting them from…) So I have had the wonderful opportunity to practice my Portuguese on them since Sister Klein was traveling with the Costas this past week. It takes a lot of patience and humility to talk to them but I get the information and appts. scheduled that I need and I only had to go American once to get something done! LOL But for real I am definitely learning patience and to have fun while waiting.

So on to more awesomer things….

We had a zone conference with the Costas this week. I added a picture of all the sisters there minus one or two dupla and the Zone picture that was taken after. The girl next to me in the Sister Picture is my best friend here on the mission, Sister Santos, who was in my apartment at the CTM. She was sent to replace me in Boa Vista, so we had a lot of fun catching up and talking about my old area. She knows English so I speak Portuguese and she speaks English.

The conference was every inspiring and I learned a lot about action. We as missionaries have so much potential to effect people for the better but if we slack because something is too hard or focus to hard on one person we miss the opportunity to meet more. For example when looking for a recent convert or old investigator that has moved, as you ask the people living there now or the family or the neighbor for a cup of water, ask to share the plan of salvation, if they say no ask to say prayer and in the prayer talk about the plan of salvation, and then you have a new contact because they will also be interested for more. 🙂 When you don’t have fear and have perfect faith everything is possible.

I opened the Halloween package in the mission office so that Sister Santos and Sister Dos Santos (she lived in the same house as me in Boa Vista) could have some Halloween. Which turned out a little dangerous because there were elders there and dang they are always wanting sweets. Luckily there were not too many so there was more then enough to share with them and couple of children that were waiting 30 minutes with us for our bus home.

The baptism we had this week was for João who apparently the week before I got here was a huge drunk and chain smoker. The first Sunday I was here we went by to invite another investigator to church and he was sitting in front of her store. We asked if he wanted to go and he said yes. After church we went over to his home with the gospel principles teacher, his wife, and the elders to teach him the third lesson. It went well and we continued to teach him every day during the rest of the week. He stopped drinking that Sunday and every time he went to smoke he felt like throwing up and the feeling became stronger and stronger as we went by more to teach. He readily accepted everything and was baptized Sunday by the bishop. The picture that I included is in this order, the bishop, João, Sister Cortez, Me and Paulo the Ward Misssion Leader.


On Sunday an American couple from Ohio, The Jacksons, came and visited the ward. It was great to have a little piece of home! They made a recording of me to send to ya´ll and on the recording João says a little message for ya´ll. I hoping Craig or Dave might be able to translate for ya´ll. I loving it here on the mission and know that this is where I am supposed to be. A mission is hard but is definitely the right place to be always!

Muito carinho!

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

