Definitely New Area :)

Standard

Oi Família!

So my new area is definitely different then Boa Vista, you can google map it by writing Manaus Adrianopolis. The area is called Adrianopolis but São Francisco and Petrópolis are all part of my new area. It is the middle of the city and almost every road looks the same. I think it will take me at least a couple of weeks to learn the area around our house. There are a lot of hills and staircases. I took a picture of the hill we walk a couple of times everyday. I do not think the picture gives it much justice. It is pretty steep. On the way to a lunch appt. this week I found a spot that would be perfect to show my area but I forgot my camera so next time we are over there I will take one. It is pretty breathe-taking and amazing.

Image

Because there are no any other festive holidays like Halloween or Thanksgiving here, a lot of people already have Christmas up and the stores are selling everything Christmas. It makes think of you Mom and how much you would love to decorate for Christmas now if you could. Some of the families already have presents under their Christmas trees. I know that if that happen in our family this early they would be opened or shaken to death by the end of the month! I am hoping to see Christmas lights soon too. 🙂

Right now most of our investigators are men over 30 that live alone. So we have to have a lot of members in the ward helping with the teaching as it is a rule not to teach them without a member present. This has allowed me to meet a lot of the ward members. We share the ward with a group of elders, one is an American Elder Vaughan that lives in West Jordan and will be leaving after this transfer and the other is a Brazilian that will be leaving soon too. They are pretty fun and we have lunch with them a couple of times a month.

We have a lot of really great references for this coming week so I hoping to be able to write about a lot of great miracles. One of them lives right by the chapel and his whole family is interested in the church. SCORE!

So something funny that happened. On the third day I was here we were given money for lunch. For some reason almost all the stores and restaurants were closed, it was not a holiday or anything. After walking around for an hour we end up at a restaurant that a neighbor of ours runs out of his home. (side note: there are a lot of them here practically everyone has some type of snack shop, mini market or restaurant attached to their house.  I think we have 6 or 7 within 5 minutes walking distance from our house) After sitting down and being told it would be an hour until our food was ready, two men came and sat at our table. (another side note: as you can tell these are not actual restaurants so our table was one of those really long ones with multiple chairs)  One of them started reading our nametags and I started up a conversation about the Book of Mormon and the church. We talked until the food came, they bought soda for us and I ended up teaching the first lesson and giving them a Book of Mormon. They were pretty awesome and turned out to be Interior Designers that worked for a company here in Manaus. They were really interested in the message and were asking a lot of great questions. After getting their contact information, we found out they were just a little outside of our area and were for the elders in our ward. I called the elders up and gave the reference. The first thing Elder Vaughan asked after I gave him the reference was do they live together and if so they were dating also. I said yes to living together and it wasn’t until he asked if they were dating also that I realized that they did act a little funny when I asked, “oh, are you brothers? No, oh, so you are friends; that is awesome”…and continued talking. Apparently that is a problem here in Manaus.

So I hope you all have fun with your Halloween celebration this week! Sounds like the party will be a blast! I will be celebrating 5 months on the mission tomorrow. Time has gone by so fast! After this next month I will be able to talk to ya´ll!!! 🙂

Paz e Amor,

Sister Janis

Fathers’ Note:  Sister Janis visited the new doctor in Manaus this past Monday, who has ordered a battery of tests including an MRI which should have taken place on Friday.  We hope to hear something from the church missionary medical this week with some update.  She is on some different medication (a lot less potent and not full of codeine) and seems to be doing somewhat better, or at least managing as evident from her more upbeat emails and the fact she is able to work much of the time.  Thank you for your prayers and faith.  We’ll keep you posted.

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

