One Long Bus Ride…

Standard

Oi Família!

What a week! I was told off and on all week that I was and was not going to Manaus this transfer, talk about stress! I received a call on Sunday afternoon that yes I was leaving and that I would be taking the 10 hour bus ride again. So after having three hours to pack and get to the bus station, we boarded and were on our way.  We were about little over two hours away from Manaus, about 3:00 a.m., when a farmer got his truck stuck blocking the entire road. This required everyone that was going in a bus or transportation truck to stop. Only little cars could go around the mess. We end up stopped there until 10 am this morning and finally got to Manaus at 12:00 pm. Talk about adventure, the mission is never dull!

Image

Image

Talking about never dull, two weeks ago we received a call from Gilson saying that our investigator Jorge, his friend, had passed away in the hospital. When we asked, when we found out it was the day of our last visit with him. That day was not a very good day with pain for me or Sister Cabral but I kept feeling we needed to go visit him. So when we were done visiting a couple of people in that area, we had lunch there with some members and tried working for a little bit since it was out of the way, we walked over to visit him. When we arrived it looked like he was sleeping but as we were writing note to him someone went in and woke him up. We were able to read a couple scriptures on the Plan of Salvation and he asked me to say a prayer in English. I was able to bear my testimony to him through that prayer. Afterwards he looked us with a big smile and joy in his eyes and said Thank You. As we were leaving, we looked back to see him sleeping peaceful. I am happy that he was able to find peace after so much suffering and that Gilson was able to be baptized so he can be baptized in the temple for Jorge.

This last week we had three skaters for investigators. I have a picture of them attached…the one with the shaggy hair and piercings is the member. 🙂 He is very strong and is always inviting his friends to church. We were able to teach them this past week and had dates for baptism this last Friday. The hour of the baptism arrived and all of them called that same hour to say they had doubts because of some things that their fathers or one of the uncles said; they told them that if you get baptized twice you go to heck. So needless to say they all fell through BUT we had a miracle!

Image

Maria Zilma was our investigator right before the other dupla came and we had to hand her to them to teach. We were tempted to keep her but followed the rules. Because of this I know she was blessed because the others could work more with her then we could. So this last Friday she was baptized and found out that she already has family support through the church by way of a cousin that is already a member and very strong. She seems to be fitting in well there and I know she has many blessings ahead.

Image

Oh and just for fun I add a picture of all the Sisters of Boa Vista. They thought it was fun that I put my hands on hips when I take photos so we over-extremed it. lol

Image

Thank you for all your letters and support! I am so blessed to have so much family and friends to support me! I love you all! Thank you thank you thank you! 🙂

Vós Amo,

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

