There is Always a Blessing HERE and NOW

Standard

Oi Família!

Gilson was baptized this week! We had the Baptismal Service just after the last session of General Conference, with a couple of other missionaries since everyone in the church comes to the stake chapel (our chapel) to watch Conference.

Image

I watched all the sessions in English with the other missionaries. It was quite interesting to see the response of the Elders to the announcement about the 19 year old sisters able to go on missions. They were in shock and one elder even said but they need to get married!?!. LOL Nevertheless, I was quick to say that this is a great blessing to my friends at school and at home. Also that the Lord needs more missionaries willing and prepared and the sisters are the great force that can help with this calling. Many of us have been hoping to go before 21 years old for a very long time. What a blessing from the Lord! I hope that EVERY eligible cousin or friend of mine 🙂 considers realistically the opportunity of serving a mission! It causes changes that can never occur anywhere else and is the foundation for the rest of your life. 

This week I also got to watch a film about Jorge, our investigator in the hospital. He was born on the streets and, when was a young kid, hitch hiked from Brazil to United States, where he lived in Miami until he was found being an noncitizen and sent back to Brazil. In Brazil he played soccer and became a trainer for many famous players and gained a Visa to come live in the USA. He received many degrees there and in Canada and accomplished many things, including being an official trainer for the Olympics. He married and moved to Canada, he had great wealth and was well known. But one day he woke up and thought I do not want this easy life, so he sold everything, divorced his wife and moved to Brazil. He lost his money very quickly and was practically living off newspapers he created and sold. Now after an accident and an infection from bacteria he is dying in a public hospital here in Boa Vista. He is happy with life and peaceful and accepting everything we are teaching him. It is amazing to think that Heavenly Father gave him so many blessings and success in his life of helping others and that he threw it all away to come back to the beginning to life of only caring for himself. But Heavenly Father still loves him and allowed us to teach him the gospel. He always allows us a chance to gain the gospel or happiness no matter what we decide to do with our lives.      

So about the other photos this week. Last Sunday after playing piano for the primary and for the ward and leading for a baptismal service I went home feeling like a truck hit my back and shoulders. I woke up the next morning feeling slightly better and continued to work Monday and Tuesday we stayed in house because Sister Cabral’s sickness was being horrible again. Wednesday morning I woke up feeling like someone had tried to take my arm off all night long. My companion called the president of our branch and we spent the day visiting a clinic and getting x-rays. The doctor gave me medicine for the pain and told to come back Thursday to look at the x rays. (Because nothing is in the same place, we literally went all over Boa Vista for everything).

ImageImage

Thursday we went and visited again and the doctor concluded that I do not have a problem in my shoulder but in my neck. My cervical column is inversed which causes my muscles to tighten and pull resulting in pain when I walk or do movement over a short period of time. (See the paper with the drawing, the one with the arrow is me and the one without is a normal person). I was told that with therapy that this could be corrected but that they did not have any appointments until maybe this week or next.

Image

We went home and called a physical therapist in our ward to come and at least lessen some of the tight muscles. (She has worked on my shoulders before). She hasn’t been able to come over yet but she advised to be very careful because this could cause me to be sent home. So we have been very careful, working a little on Thursday and Friday and Saturday we just went to conference. After Conference I was feeling pain from sitting all day, so we called Sister Klein and she instructed that I am not to leave the house this week. So I will not have a lot to write this next week 🙂 

BUT THIS IS A BLESSING! I will be able to practice my lessons and Portuguese with all the young women and sisters that come over while Sister Cabral does divisions. I know that is just a trial of faith and that Heavenly Father is preparing me for a grand work! After this trial I will be able to be a productive instrument in his hands with perfect Portuguese and lessons. lol

Keeping looking for Blessings in your lives, honor them by helping others, and serve a mission!

Love, 

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

One response »

  1. Dear Granddaughter, Sometimes the things we carry (purses, backpacks, etc.) cause necks to have problems, too. Follow the advice of the professionals, and get better. We love hearing about your mission. Love, G’ma G.

Leave a Reply

