Lizards are good…

Standard

Oi Família!

Mom, if you could go to the first picture and open it, you will see something that you will like very, very much. 🙂

Image

No not the mess or Christmas table cloth…look towards the back…what is that on top of the books?!? Oh it is your PACKAGE!!! Yes I received your package in a month! Which actually is really unheard of so your prayers must be really powerful. 🙂 I loved the chocolate, cliff bars and especially the Annie’s bunnies. I never get to have anything like that here because it is too expensive or does not exist. The barrette works wonders with my hair. 🙂 It totally made my week better. 🙂

Now for the pictures…the first is after a lesson planning session that I did to practice teaching the different lessons. I write down the sentences, scriptures and questions I want to use in a lesson completely in Portuguese, so I can practice writing and grammar and also, so I can make more concrete the different lessons plans that I will use. As you can tell it is pretty long and usually ends up taking four or five hours to do it. When I am not doing lesson plans I am working on grammar or reading in Portuguese out loud. It helps a lot with my teaching and speaking when we go out to work.

The other picture is of a lizard that lives in front and behind our house. They eat cockroaches so we have not had any for the past month and half, which is amazing! They’re an answer to prayer because as you know I do not like bugs!!! I had to save one of the lizards a couple of weeks ago because it fell into the sink that is in the back outside of the house by the washer. He was stuck because the sides were so slippery. Luckily I had a leaf and could push him out. lol

Image

Our investigators that we have are progressing pretty well. Gilson after being an investigator for almost four months choose a date to be baptized and is going to buy a white shirt and tie! That is HUGE! We could not believe our ears when he told us. He is awesome and has truly gained a testimony of the gospel. He told us that he is looking forward to finding someone in the church to take to the temple in a year. lol

Yêda is quite the popular girl, as every time we go to her home everyone and their dog shows up, literally 🙂 But she has continued to read and has prayed. We are waiting for a moment we can actually teach and invite her for baptism. One of her friends told her that we were the devil’s church and this caused a little bit of doubt so we have been working on helping her understand that isn’t true.

Elder is a friend of one the members in our ward, he comes every week with him and is really willing to be baptized. We have had two dates for him but the first time his dad took him to his house outside of our area, so we could not teach and this last week he got Digne Fever. Nevertheless we have been able to start teaching his sister and a friend of hers.

If everything works out this week we should have three baptisms!

We only have about 4 other investigators but they are all very promising. Heavenly Father has definitely blessed that we are able to work effectively and productively with the time that we do have.

President Klein came this past week to do interviews and he was quite impressed with my Portuguese and understanding it. Also I was asked by the Primary to play for their program in November if I am still here. I play for every sacrament meeting and Relief Society meeting, so I get better every time but let just say it is not always the best. I have to keep myself from not laughing out loud. They appreciate it because it is better then singing solo.

I hope everything is going fantabuless for ya´ll! Love and miss you!

Sorri!

Sister Janis

 

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

