Mim vs. Eu

Standard

Oi Família! 

Thank you for the pictures! Keep them coming! Also tomorrow is Zone Conference without Presidente Klein which means I am getting letters and apparently I won the letter count. So an advanced thank you for the letters! Hopefully Mom there will be a package also. 🙂 If not, Presidente Klein will be coming this weekend for interviews and transfers are in four weeks.

This week was pretty normal for Sister Cabral and me, which means we were in house most of the week. It has been nice to have other sisters in house also, because I was able to do divisions one day and everyday I do language study with Sister Lucena. She is so funny to work with. Every once in awhile when she or someone in our apartment asks a question in my direction, I answer with mim?, which means me in Portuguese. They go crazy every time and say Eu! which means I in Portuguese. Then we have a fun battle with me saying mim and them saying Eu. At night Sister Lucena usually cooks some common Brazilian dish and we eat together and just enjoy talking about our families, life on the mission and any other fun conversation. It is all in Portuguese because she does not speak any English. It is nice to know that I can still be me even in another language. 

Yêda is the only youth left from the big group. She really wants to be baptized and we are working for this weekend. Every time we get the opportunity to confirm her baptism date and help her have motivation to pray some thing happens. We keep joking that she must be a mother of future prophet with all the distractions that happen. 

Yesterday, we had lunch at member’s home like usual but they had about 10 nonmembers there and 4 less-active members. So instead of teaching the message this week that President Klein asked that we teach I had to teach a lesson that we normally teach in five minutes. I meant to teach the restoration and had everything in my mind prepared for it. But when I opened my mouth I started talking about the Gospel of Jesus Christ and enduring to the end. It actually wasn’t that bad. I did not repeat myself and it seem like everyone learned something. The Holy Ghost really helps with the message and Heavenly Father really gives you words to say. 

Tonight we will be having FHE with the family that we had lunch with yesterday, along with Yêda, Dyego and Dario. Dyego and Dario are two youths that were baptized before we got here but were confirmed with us. They will be getting the Priesthood this next weekend and they are super excited. 

I can finally put one of our investigators in my PMG this week! Before this last week we would have some get baptized on Saturday and the next day they would be sick or just not come to church. But Derciany came this last Sunday! I was very happy because I really like her and I cannot wait to have ya’ll meet her and others that will be baptized in the coming 4 weeks after the mission.

I know ya’ll are doing wonderful! Keep it up! 🙂 Love ya’ll!

Tchau!

Sister Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

