Alfabeto and Numeros

Standard

Oi família!

Thanks for the detailed overview of the BYU vs. Utah game! I kept gasping and mini cheering while I read. lol I have to say I agree with Craig…Heavenly Father likes us to keep the Sabbath Day holy!

I attached a picture of my newest books that a member gave me because I do not know the alphabet or numbers in Portuguese very well. They actually have only 23 letters in their alphabet and then the ones that they are missing like y in their alphabet, they have interesting pronunciation for them. So I am using the two books that are used in their pre-k classes to learn. It is pretty fun lol. An interesting fact…they learn how to write in cursive in pre-k! I do not think I learned that until 3rd or 2nd grade…their cursive type is very pretty.

The other picture is of me and Sister Cabral walking to a lunch appointment.  Boa Vista pretty much looks like this but with semi-paved roads. Very beautiful but very, very hot! The place that picture was taken is at the very, very edge of Boa Vista…next week I will try and send a picture of the map and what our area looks like.

Most of our investigators have testimonies of the gospel but for one doubt or another they will not cross the finish line. I really appreciated your quote that you sent, Mom, about pray and go. I think that is how faith works. It is believing without seeing, and moving forward into the dark, trusting that with your hand out and searching you will be able to find the switch and have all understanding.

Yêda ( I think I wrote Ieda last week, I hope you guys can tell who is who when I start writing their names correctly lol) was sleeping because she got home very late the night before. We tried to make a new baptismal date for this coming week which turned out to be pretty interesting. Everything was prefect she and João Victor were paying attention the Spirit was there and just as Sister Cabral went to invite them, their friend Malcolm who very evangelistic arrived to hang out with them. Everything fall apart and we were not able to give the invitation. We are hoping to use a member’s home this next week to keep this from happening again. Most of the time we teach in front of their homes in the yard or road. So having prefects moments like that are super hard!

The apartment turned out ok, I will have to take pictures this week so you can see it. It is a little cramped but cozy. The contro praza from Manuas became sick and decided not to come so a sister from Boa Vista, but not our area, came in her place. Sister Luciana has only been a member for 2 months! She is very nice and wants to learn English so she can study in the USA. Sister Dos Santos is quite the character, I call her nicely the mini tornado because the first ten minutes she was in our apartment she said or did things that were not the most polite. I feel bad for her because the way she treats people and communicates making it very hard to communicate with her and keep a positive attitude towards her. As I have very strong potential of being her companion after Sister Cabral ends her mission at the end of this transfer, I am trying to find positive attributes and pray that our relationship with the members will not be destroyed. 🙂

I love it here and what I am learning. I am very grateful for the life lessons I have learned from you, Mom and Dad, and from life itself before I got here. It makes everything all the more easier, to love others and find the good in all things.

Always Positive!

Sister Janis

Image

 

Image

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

