Teaching Solo

Standard

Oi Família!

This week was definitely was an interesting one! We had a baptism and splits!

The baptism was wonderful. Dercioney is the sister of a family that was baptized about 11 months ago. When they first were taught she did not want to accept baptism but during one of the lunches at her home we had a chance to talk to her and teach her the first lesson. She really took the lessons to heart and was baptized a little over a week later, which was this Saturday. She is amazing and because of the splits I was even able to be a major part of her conversion. I am constantly inspired by our investigators!

I don’t think I have told ya’ll about my companion, Sister Cabral. She has an illness from the stress of the mission that causes her left side to have intense pain occasionally. She cannot drink a lot of water because of it and this causes her to have terrible headaches, especially when it is very, very hot outside. Usually when this happens we stay home for part or all of the day and I study the language, prepare for lessons or read the scriptures out loud while she rests.

Also in the past two weeks she has been having an allergy to something in our home. We thought it was the AC unit, so I took it apart and cleaned it this last p-day, I added pictures to show how bad it was! I love living in a former Elder’s apartment. LOL 🙂 She is still having some problems so we are really going to clean today and hope that it helps.

So on Wednesday, because of all of this, Sister Cabral was in serious pain.  So she called up a sister in our ward that has been returned from her mission for about a year to do splits with me while she stayed home with different sisters in the ward. I was so nervous because I was in charge of five teaching appointments and they were all different, they included contacting a member less active part nonmember family, a referral in the hospital, teaching Dercionye things she need to know for her baptism, Maicon, who was supposed to be our baptism two weeks ago but dropped out the day before, and a mother and son that has been drunk or not home the past times that we had come by. I was so nervous about having to read the scriptures and apply them to two of the appointments because it meant that I had to understand what was being read, ask inspired questions, and tie it into the main point we were wanting to make. Luckily Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father definitely helped me! It was one of the most productive days we have had in awhile and I learned that I really can talk and lead even if my Portuguese is not prefect.

The referral in the hospital turned out to be Jorge Afonso, who is about 45 years old. He suffered a back injury that caused his lower back to be broken. While he was in the hospital for surgery and recovery he received an infection and has been in isolation/ hospital for the past 18 months and hopefully will get out in December. He is a real inspiration because he has been continually positive throughout the entire ordeal! It was interesting to go in and visit him dressed up in hospital clothes and masks. Don’t worry mom it was just a precaution for him since he is still fragile from the infection.

This weeks hopefuls for baptism are a group of youth that we have been teaching. They range from 10-17 years old. There are about 10 of them and they are all friends. Three of them are from the family that I have talked about in the last two emails. They all came to church with us, so we are aiming for them to receive an answer and take part in the covenant of baptism this week. It was fun to watch them read their Books of Mormon as they walked to church and see them make friends with the other members in the ward.

Just an interesting fact about Brasil… everyone here loves Interior Design. It is apparently a high demand job and people who do it get paid really well. The other day I was eating lunch with a family and I was talking about how I studied design before the mission. One of the sons ran out of the room and came back with 250 American dollars and was like how much do I need to pay you to do my room. It was so funny and I really do hope to be able to come back here to Brasil and design. Design is just like the gospel, good design can change an environment and how people see themselves. It does not have to have a price, it could just be rearranging furniture or painting a wall a different color, or knocking it completely out. Gospel is the same, we just need to look at our spiritual homes and decide what we need to improve in a space to make it more functional and effective. The Scriptures and the Leaders of the church are the teachers and they show the fundamental guides to succeeding at this.

I hope every one is having an amazing week and that you continue on staying positive and smiling. Read D&C 123:17; by smiling we are showing our inner peace and knowledge of the truth.

Te Amo!

Sister Janis

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

