Interior Design and Proselyting

Standard

Oi Família!

This week has been awesome! We were able to hand out 6 O Livro de Mórmon (LdM) to different people around the CTM and outside of the boundaries. My favorite out of all of them was a 40 year-old lady sweeping outside of where she was working. We stopped and talked to her about her job, which is a cook for the restaurant. We laughed about how we most likely did not cook as well as she does and then she asked about why we were there so we talked about the church and asked her if she believed in Jesus Cristo and she said no but she continued on talking and bearing her testimony about Deus and how she knows that he listens to her prayers. She asked us if we prayed and I said “every day.” I then showed her the LdM and told her it was another testimony of Jesus Christ and Deus. I then read 2 Nephi 25:26 and after I finished reading it to her I looked up and she had such a light in her eyes. She grabbed her heart and said you have touched my heart. I told her that she could have the LdM and it was free gift from us. She grabbed it and held it to her heart and said she would read it that night. I told her I know that Deus ama ela and that he knows her. She then looked in me and Sister Maxwell’s eyes and said “I know he loves you too.” It was an awesome experience!!!

So about Interior Design… I realized the other day that teaching investigators is like designing a house. They call you up and you only have the basic information about their age, family, where they are living and a simple idea of what they are wanting basically to change. You then go to the first visit and find out more deeply about the challenge and discover more about how they live within their space by reading nonverbal cues and reading in between the lines of what they want. After the first visit you go back to the office and brainstorm different ideas to help them, using the information they have given. Once you have two concrete design solutions, you take it to your boss and ask him for approval. Once one is chosen you take it to the production lab and create boards and drawings outlining this plan. Then you take it to the client and show how this plan created, just for them, can change their life. Teaching is the same way. Every plan is different and the way it is presented is different. Design is like unto the creation of worlds and Missionary Work is too.

My time is completely up but I love you all!!

Eu amo vocês!!

Sister Elaine Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

