Our First Embarrassing Word Mistake in a Lesson

Standard

Oi Família!

Esta semana tive estar fantabuloso! Eu escribei a historia sobre CTM más a historia não conmigo. I accidently left it in the classroom last night and then the classroom got locked so next week I will be able to type up a whole story for ya´ll in Portuguese. 🙂

This week was a week of many firsts which was little weird since it is my last real week at the CTM. Next week we have a regular schedule for three days and meetings upon meetings for the last half of the week. I am very excited though for Monday because we are going to be proselyting!!! The first time we do it is just with our area of São Paulo which is Cape Verde, which I found this week is named after the soccer team Palmerias (or like I prefer to call the Palm Trees) who own a store and stadium close by. It would totally explain why for the past two weeks straight fireworks and horns have been going off all hours of the night and day. They just finished two different seasons in soccer here. We would be sitting in class and hear a series of fireworks go off. I found out that people that live up in the high-rise apartments just light the fireworks and throw them out the window. The times that they would go off would be so random that I joked with my teacher that they must just be cleaning their house after a party and found a firework and wanted to get rid of it so what better way then tossing it out the window in broad daylight. 🙂

So a week of firsts… we got roommates this past week which has been awesome since one of them is going to be my companion on the way to Manaus and she can speak a little English so I won’t be completely lost on the way there in two weeks. The other roommate does not speak English but she is so cute and funny. She loves it when I get really excited when she understands my Portuguese. We both call out Parabeans! and laugh hysterically, mostly because we are both slap happy by the time we need to be going to bed.

Sister Maxwell and I had our first word mistake in a lesson this past week also. It was during a really spiritual moment too! We were teaching Igor about the principle of prayer since he is having a really hard time with it and Sister Maxwell was telling a story about a time she prayed and felt peace even though her problems did not go away. She had forgotten how to say go away in Portuguese and I had recently learned three ways that potential pesquisadores in Manaus say it to the missionaríos from an Elder from Manaus. So I told her to say capar o gato (which means castrate the cat). So instead of saying my problems do not go away we said my problems did not castrate the cat. Needless to say our instructor could not stop laughing for 5 minutes straight and we just ended our lesson there. It took 5 more minutes for us to stop laughing and start studying for our next pesquisador.

So the Elder from Manaus is another new thing this week. He is the first here that I have meet from Manaus. His name is Elder Geomes da Silva and he has decided that I am holy since I will be serving in Manaus. Every time Sister Maxwell and I see him he asks to see my smile and in broken English tells me about Manaus. He was a tour guide there so he gave me a list of places to go on P-Day and the prices for them and even the local bus rate, that it is 113 reales between June and November, and all the popular food items I need to try.

Eu espero voces têm ótimo tempo com a família esta semana! Eu amo vocês!

Tchau!!

Sister Elaine Janis

P.S. Thank you for the cookies, my district will love them 🙂

Image

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

