Beast Mode and Liberdade!

Standard

Oi Familia!

The Portuguese keyboard isn’t working again today so there won’t be anything fancy. (Including the smiley face I just tried putting here…) This week has been the hardest of the all I have had so far! I want to first thank you all of the wonderful notes you wrote in my journal before I left; it felt like I was getting a huge hug from everyone in the family!

But on to positive highlights of the week!

We have conquered all of the Portuguese tenses and basic and intermediate grammar rules so when we were supposed to be doing grammatica we instead played the story game where each person says a line to a story and then you have to add a line and so on. We did it to practice speaking and listening in Portuguese. We ended up with a story about a girl who was not liked in her primary class because she sang too loud and the kids tried to take revenge on her by putting fish in her basketball. She then bought a new ball and went to play soccer but when the children were playing Darth Vader came and killed all the children. The main girl woke up and found out she was dreaming. She went into the kitchen and Mickey Mouse was in the kitchen and while he was talking to her he turned into Darth Vader and then Elmo showed up and Hans Solo stomped on him and that was the end of the story. Can you tell that we have a lot of fun in our class? lol

Next highlight was that we sang Come Thou Font for one of our meetings this week. Elder Ramalho recorded it for us but I haven’t listened to it yet but I will send it if it is good quality. Sister Maxwell and I will be singing again this week in a duet, The Lord Is My Shepherd.  Elder Ramalho will try and record it so I can send it also. Laura maybe we could do an album together when I get home (Smiley Face)

So about the email subject “Beast Mode”…. Elder Costa is training to be in the Army here in Brazil so he is like a ninja. He showed us the other day how he could do push-ups on his fingertips and things like that. It was legit! The other day he was walking home and some guy tried to rob him saying he had a “gun” in his pocket.  Elder Costa took him out like nobody’s business!  Keep in mind Elder Costa is only my height and most likely weighs barely 100 lbs. I know that the Lord will send an angel for me if someone ever tries to rob me. lol

Liberdade, today being Fourth of July, the CTM as gone all out for us! They decorated the cafeteria and made hamburgers, fries, and even had ice cream. They hung the American flag up and we all stood with our hands over our hearts and sang the national anthem it was amazing. Most of the sisters wore red, white, and blue; one sister even cut out stars and put them on her buttons. Some sisters and I went walking around our CTM boundary, talked to someone completely in Portuguese about why we were here and she was impressed with our understanding and speaking Portuguese in only 6 weeks. It is amazing how much time has flown by! I only have 3 more weeks left!

Information about the CTM…

Everyone in the CTM has to go to choir practice. We spend an hour practicing a song that is usually English, Spanish and Portuguese taken from hymns and put together on a page to be sung. Sister Steadman, our director, then has hymnplicity music put for the background and we sing different lines differently, kind of like ward choir. It is pretty fun and this last Tuesday she had us sing a Brazilian song that the Brazilians didn’t even know how to sing so we just laughed our whole way through it.

Sister Maxwell and I still haven’t got any roommates, which is fine because the girl apartments get their own bathrooms and we had a pretty good system down. We are hoping that the Brazilians and Spanish speakers coming tomorrow will be our roommates so we can start practicing more. We spend whole days at a time only speaking Portuguese. It is fun but slow going because we have to focus on sentence structure and pronunciation. The vocabulary and knowledge is there but each sentence is so different! We learned this past week to that we as English speakers speak horribly! It rocked our whole world and you should have seen our faces. I think the only one that was happy about learning this was Elder Ramalho and that is because he is learning English.

My time is running short but I hope ya’ll are having fun and enjoy the fireworks for me! We have fireworks tonight but we will only be able to hear them since they are for a huge game happening tonight and we can’t see them from the CTM.

Amo voces!

Sister Elaine Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

