The Joys of Teaching Brazilados

Standard

Oi Familia!

My keyboard won’t change to Portuguese today so you will have to just read English sorry! But I think I can say this correctly without it “Eu amo CTM e compheria!”

This week has gone by in a blur! I feel like it was just yesterday that I was writing you and I seriously have to write down during the week things I want to write home because I feel like I should have already told you about them since they were so long ago.

This week Elder Costa came and spoke to us in a surprise Devotional meeting. It was pretty neat. We all got to shake hands with him and I was super excited because he served in Manaus and was also a Mission President for a while there. He talked about the dedication and strength of the missionaries there and how it is their positive attitude that makes the difference. I am so excited to get there and like Laura said in her wonderful Portuguese last week only 5 more weeks! Yay!

My investigators are doing wonderful and progressing well. Alexandre (Costa) should be getting baptized on Saturday and we will then get a new investigator. Jociel remarkably changed over the week and half we only taught him once. He prays morning and night, feels and understands the Holy Ghost, and reads scriptures, when before he said he wouldn’t do any of those things because he did not believe God helped him. I personally think Irmao Ramalho forgot what we had taught him. I also am not sure if he said the Lord’s Prayer or personal prayer in our last lesson so we are going to have to cover that in the next lesson. lol

So a funny thing that happen this week…

Sister Maxwell and I have a little fan club start up last week because they heard us singing the other day and wanted us to sing more to them. They are the classroom next to us and every day they ask to have us teach them English or just talk to them in Portuguese. Monday was their last day so they were just goofing off and Sister Maxwell and I were preparing for our lessons while the rest of the district took turns teaching. The Brazilados soon found out about this and asked for us to practice teaching them. We agreed and acted out the door approach and started with prayer. It was then I realized that one of the Brazilados was filming the entire thing. When were telling the steps to pray and said you need to bow your head they all bent over in their chairs trying to touch the ground. After correcting that and praying we began our lesson. They were one wild bunch! We taught the gospel of Jesus Christ as our main lesson but soon found out all at once that the Elders were pretending to have a smoking problem, all of them had read the introduction of the Book of Mormon, stole some of the Elders name tags and multiple other topics. Of course of this was in super fast Portuguese and it was a miracle that Sister Maxwell and I understood it. I told them we would have to cover some of the problems in later lessons and said for the others that the Gospel of Jesus Christ would help. I opened up the scripture about feasting upon the words of Christ and one of the Brazilados started eating a corner of my companion’s Book of Mormon we had given them to read from! That was stopped super quick, all of us laughing really hard and trying to explain in Portuguese why it did not literally mean eat them. We then tried to say a closing prayer to end the lesson and all them decided to pretend to be evangelical with holding hands and crying out hallelujah! and Amen! in the middle of the prayer. That was also super fun to explain lol.

I have to say that the Brazilians really make my weeks and days here! Any time you teach any Brazilados you have to teach them how to pray because if you do not they will pretend to be Evangelical and do really weird things. In TRC, if you are not careful, even when they say on the description sheet that they have been taught to pray, you still have to teach them how to do it.

Life at the CTM…

For gym every day except for one which is service, we have to run five laps around the track and then we can do our own thing for exercise. I like to play volleyball with the Brazilians. I apparently have a very strong arm and a wicked serve so every time I hit the ball and it goes too far and out of bounds they pretend to flex their muscles and yell forte! I just yell nao nao forte! lol

I love ya’ll and can’t wait to read your letters from this week!

Love

Elaine

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

