Legacy and Shake It Up

Standard

Oi Família!

I finally figured out how to get the Portuguese keyboard to work! Not only can I write ya´ll now but I can get 100% on my Language Labs for my spelling lol. So about the subject of this email. This week at the CTM we were able to watch the Temple Dedication and Celebration for the Manaus Temple, it was awesome! President Uchtdorf talked about how the first missionaries got there. The people of Manaus asked three times to the Mission President of João Pessoa to please send missionaries but he keep saying no until the third time. He gave them three conditions that the members had to meet for the missionaries to come. 1) They must have enough people for the two Elders they were going to send to not have to go tracting but just teach all the referrals. 2) They had to provide airplane transportation for two Elders. 3) The Elders would only be able to stay there for 4 months. The people of Manaus not only got enough people to have lessons and earned enough money to pay for plane tickets, they had so many people interested, that the mission president sent more missionaries until it had to become a mission.

So for the Legacy, Aunt Tora Sue went when the area was first open by the willing saints in the 1970s, Uncle Damon served in Manaus when there was one stake and it was a zone in the Brasilia mission before it became its own mission, and now me when a temple has been dedicated. Craig even went to João Pessoa, the mission that the first missionaries to Manaus were sent from! How is that for Legacy?!

So for the shake it up part…I showed Irmão Costa the picture of our family and he said,  “Wow it looks like your parents put themselves in a bucket and shook until all of you came out” lol. I was like “so we look alike?” and he said “I do not know how to describe it in English”; haha my teachers are awesome. Irmão Ramalho thought our whole family looked like we took the same face and added different lengths of hair and clothes.

Irmão Ramalho asked me and Sister Maxwell to help our district to become united since everyone is in a study study study bubble and they are super intense, so any suggestions on how to get them to open up would be great. He chose us because we were the most open. Let’s just say I’m glad he gave us this opportunity.

Our investigators are doing well. Sister Maxwell and I are teaching in pretty good unity now and have helped both of them on most of their issues. Alexandre is a single father with two kids whose wife lives in Rio where she is working and being a bad example for their kids that Alexandre watches. Jociel is an 18 year old who works a lot and feels that God does not care or help. We are going to try and teach him balance and how to receive direction, help and peace in his life through the gospel.

The other night we got a new doctor missionary couple to replace our old ones that are leaving this week. I was able to be one of the 16 missionaries to bear their testimonies. I am going to write part of my testimony now but it is not the one I shared since not all of it was in Portuguese.

Eu sei que Jesus Cristo é nossos salavador. Eu sei que Pai Celestial ama nós. Eu testifíco o Livro de Mórmon é verdadeiro. O Livro de Mórmon é o livro de palavras de Deus é ensinamentos de Jesus Cristo. Eu sei que amo minha família! 🙂

So a couple of things about the CTM!

For gym we have to run five laps around the track and it takes 14 laps to complete a mile, then we can play volleyball. It is pretty competitive here with the Spanish and Brazilians getting really into it. I am always sliding and diving to get the ball lol. The food here isn’t too bad but everyday for breakfast is bread, cheese and ham. Occasionally a donut or more bread. I told Irmaõ Ramalho what we ate for breakfast and he was like way too much grease! and that it is lunch/dinner food.

Every p-day we go to the temple here in São Paulo and it is quite adventurous with the bus driver almost running over a motorcycle and a car changing over three lanes of traffic! The motorcycles do not have lanes, they just go on the lines dividing the lanes and try to avoid cars, it is crazy!!!

So time is almost up but I just want to ask that one of ya´ll or the brothers could kind of summarize what we did not pack so that the pre-missionaries following my blog know how we got it down to the max weight!

Eu amo você!

Sister Elaine Janis

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

