Packing Everything!

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So for all my friends trying to pack everything in one less then 50 lb bag and one carry on here is what I packed and have learned to buy in Brazil.

All of the medical supplies required in the Missionary Packet (I got them in Costco sized bottles that will most likely last my whole mission and generic Target Brands)

Sewing Kit, Umbrella, Laundry Bag were all from Missionary Mall

For shoes I am bring two pair of flip flops and plan on buying some there since cleanness it top priority out there, walking sandals like chacos I am buying there since they are cheaper, running shoes from nike and some nice black z strap mary janes for zone conference and until I buy chacos.

For clothes I have four dress, three blouses, five skirts, three sweaters, three work out shirts, two work out short/capris, a pair of jeans, three v- neck shirts, 8 tanks and three nice shirts for baptisms and zone conference.

For make-up I am bring what I usually wear and only stocked up on 24 hr waterproof mascara and Covergirl Outlast Lipstick, since Brazil does not have waterproof mascara and i really like my lip gloss. I also bought eye makeup remover for the mascara since it may be hard to come off. Do not bring shampoo and conditioner or anything like that because they do carry quality name brand products in Brazil.

I am planning on wearing contacts so I brought enough containers for the mission and 2 huge bottles to last for awhile until I get situated in my areas. I will also be bring glasses for those days where the contacts just won’t work.

Brazil does not believe that Tampons are good for you so you want them on your mission buy a 18 month worthy supply.

For your raincoat and bag while tracting, get them in Sao Paulo. There is a store that makes custom bags for the mission cheap by the mtc that all the missionaries get there bags done. You will need to do it the first couple of weeks since they will need to be made.

Don’t forget your native language version of the Preach my Gospel and Scriptures (all of the books)!

I hope that helps with packing! I did end up with over 50lbs but what is a girl to do! Hopefully by the time I go I can reshuffle a bit to my backpack to get it to even out. 🙂

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

One response »

Leave a Reply

