Preparing for a Mission

Standard

Preparation Precedes Power

Not only is this a great preparation book for the mission by Randy L. Bott, but a great slogan to having a successful mission. Read and study your scriptures, get missionary training manuals that are not only written by the church. Those are great and so are the ones written by experienced Mission Preparation instructors. I have been using a prep guide distributed by the Desert Bookstore that is not written by the church but ties in the missionary prep manual, Preach My Gospel and the life experiences.  You can even start on the Missionary Library.

Attend Institute or a Religion course

Trust me, I was not a fan of them either before I started preparing for my mission. I am currently attending Spring semester for the first block and taking Old Testament and Doctrine and Covenants. A Mission Preparation courses would help to but studying the other parts of scripture has helped me understand the covenants I had made in the temple and the purpose of the church and missionary work. You don’t need to attend the whole semester just find a class and go so that you can start learning how to study and understand your purpose in missionary work and who you are. /if you are brave enough or able to volunteer to teach a class or two in you local seminary.

Go to the Temple

So many blessings come from temple service! Keep going and never stop. There are always friends that are willing to go with you and don’t be afraid to go alone. The week after I went through for the first time, a girlfriend of mine was leaving in three weeks to the West Indies. She wanted to go everyday for the two weeks she had in Rexbrug before she went home to prepare. Even though I was in class I set time everyday the temple was open to go. I can say that because I went so much I became more comfortable and I am now able to go alone and be comfortable with it. If you are able to go to as many temples that are in your area and participate multiple times in the different ordinances.

Get Out of Your Comfort Zone

When you are on your mission, you will find that you are constantly out of your comfort zone.Enjoy it now! Try and find ways to reach out. If you don’t like being in a crowd of people you don’t know and having to create conversation, do it. The more you are comfortable to change the more success you will have.

Find Someone to Be “You” While You are Gone

By you, I mine someone that can fix the spelling on your letters and post them on blog. Also if they are trustworthy and  organized. Make sure your personal things are taken care of. My father is in charge of my account while I am gone. He will take care of registering me for courses,keeping the credit card company aware that I am in Brazil and spending money there and it is not fraud, any other worldly thing I can not take care of while on a mission that need to be done promptly. If your parents are unable to do this, ask your bishop, friend, youth leader, anyone that you trust. I am sure that they will help.

If you prepare you will be more focused and successful out in the field. Distraction and procrastination never succeeds on the lord’s time.

About elainejanis

My name is Elaine Janis. I am currently serving as a volunteer representative for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Amazon Jungle of Manaus Brazil. When I complete my mission I will return to Brigham Young University-Idaho where I am a senior in the Interior Design Program. Quotes that inspire me everyday are: "love life and it will love you back" "design is like unto the creation of worlds"

Leave a Reply

